Setcha’s Blog











{May 11, 2009}   Digital Game

Wow it’s been forever right? ok so the digital game. Me and Elizabeth worked on this together all weekend… yup that’s right from friday night to monday morning we were working on this game. I did the majority of the coding and the sounds, and Elizabeth did the graphics, except for the few I worked on… ^^; Elizabeth did the entire story plot and dialogue, the entire game was actually her idea, I just helped her code it really…

when we were assignd the project I was thinking about doing a Martail Arts competition using the characters from Bleach. The reason I went with Elizabeth’s idea was because she was really excited about it and asked me to help. I’m glad I did too because there is no way she could have finished it on her own… I was really excited when I found the sound bits online from other Bleach games :3 I’m glad we were able to use these.

We used gamemaker to make the game, I already knew how to do alot of the coding using this software, but not all of it. Through making this game I learned how to set timelines, alarms, and get user input :0 I was excited needless to say. The thing I was upset about was that the characters got stuck when others played them, but when I played them I never got stuck, I knew getting stuck in a gamemaker game was a huge possibility so when I was coding I was sure to test the movements in EVERY level and I NEVER got stuck ๐Ÿ˜ก it was annoying needless to say…. (I say that alot in this post apparently… ) I wish it hadn’t taken so long to make, I like my sleep and I didn’t get much that weekendย >,< but I did get A TON of Mountain Dew so I guess that makes up for it ๐Ÿ™‚ lol I can’t think of anything else to say …. oh yeah! playtesting… when we brought it to class I was sad because there were no speakers and no one could hear the soundย I was so happy that I found ๐Ÿ˜ฅ good thing it didn’t take long to code that or I would have been very angry ๐Ÿ˜€ The biggest thing I noticed was that people were crowded around the keyboard and really didn’t know what to do… I think it would have helped to have the moveable character in the intruction screen so they could move around to get used to hte controls before game play. this would be one change I’d make if I were to re-do it. I would also limit the movement in some other way than with an invisable object, because people kept getting stuck on it… I would need to hard code the sprite to say it cannot pass a certain boundry… but that would have taken longer XDย  and I would have had to do more math than I was comfortable with at 3 in the morning. Other than movement issues I don’t think people really understood their goal, I think Sarah understood that her character blew boxes/rocks up and gathered the clue beneath them, but I got the feeling that Lauren and Desirea didn’t know who they were supposed to destroy, or that when the people they were supposed to get rids of touched a clue, hidden or otherwise, or hit Sarah’s character, the game ended. because of this I would pry add a game save option so you could start back up in the same room you lost in because it is easy to loose. Re-playability also kinda sucks because once you guess “who did it?” right, that’s it, it never changes. I didn’t know how to randomly genorate clues that cooresponded with a specific character and no one else… I guess I could have figured it out but with the time constrant, it didn’t seem worth it to me… yeah so that’s that :3

deserthat says:

Stephanie,

Great job with your marathon Game Maker session! I’m glad you put this up – you should check this article out too, as it’s a similar situation:

http://www.gamedev.net/reference/articles/article2259.asp

User testing will tell you a lot about your game that you didn’t know before. This is because you have been stuck working on the same game and do not know how to approach it fresh. This is where observations of player testing comes in: Do your users know what to do? How are you giving them instructions for the controls? How are you giving them the opportunity to test the controls out? (good ideas there!) What feedback are you giving players? This includes positive feedback for performing a good action and negative feedback to give players time to react. Ultimately, that all comes down to meaningful play – giving the players enough information to let them choose actions towards their goal and to give them enough feedback so they can react to their choices. Often this can be a combination of audio and animation feedback.

Your difficulties with getting stuck also illustrates something about bug testing. Bug testing involves doing everything possible within every conceivable situation and then when a bug is found, being able to reproduce it. Often bugs will only appear in player testing or after a game is released because testing teams simply can’t account for every variable!

Great job, and I’m glad you learned a lot!

-Devin Monnens



l3rr4 says:

I enjoyed your digital game, I felt that if I had payed more attention to the clues in the beginning, that I would have done better with guessing who had done the crime! Lol! ๐Ÿ™‚ Overall, tho I think that the movement made the game pretty fun ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t know what suggestions I would make, except maybe putting more information in the OK boxes, so you didn’t have to click as often? Idk! ๐Ÿ™‚ Good job, both of you! ๐Ÿ˜€



Leave a Reply

et cetera
